top of page

Victims' Code of Practice

The Ministry of Justice have published a simplified and updated Victims’ Code. The new Code comes into force on 1st April 2021 and includes 12 overarching rights to ensure that victims understand and are aware of the level of service they can expect to receive.

  1. To be able to understand and be understood

  2. To have details of the crime recorded without unjustified delay

  3. To be provided with information when reporting a crime

  4. To be referred to services that support victims and have services and support tailored to your needs

  5. To be provided with information about compensation

  6. To be provided with information about the investigation and prosecution

  7. To make a Victim Personal Statement

  8. To be given information about the trial, trial process and your role as a witness

  9. To be given information about the outcome of the case and any appeals

  10. To be paid expenses and have property returned

  11. To be given information about the offender following a conviction

  12. To make a complaint about your Rights not being met

Download PDF • 692KB

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

NCA alerts - warning about "sextortion" and CYP

Good afternoon You may be aware that the National Crime Agency’s CEOP Education, the team that aims to help protect children and young people from online child sexual abuse, yesterday (29 April) issue

Your Privacy Matters

From 1st November, all patients in England will automatically be able to access their GP health record through the NHS app and other online services. Having your health history at your fingertips soun


bottom of page